Back into the swing of things.

FINALLY I am feeling some improvement! I have been off the radar for a whole week now and I am starting to feel the meds kicking in… and I’m coming back to life! haha

I went out dancing last night because after the week I had, I knew I needed it. And while I was expecting to feel sicker today,ย I actually feel better ๐Ÿ™‚

I had an AMAZING brunch to start off my Saturday:

a tomato and mushroom omelette with cottage cheese, and melon

this grapefruit and honey plus the other half ๐Ÿ™‚

Today I relaxed and worked on some homework and assignments…I’m FINALLY at the home stretch of school and I’m also going home next weekend to see my family ๐Ÿ™‚

I was planning on going to the gym today but I realize I shouldn’t jump the gun here and I decided to give myself one more “day off”…I’ll probably do abs and arm exercises in my dorm later tonight.

What I realized about working out from being sick:

  • Working out should be a want to ….not a HAVE TO
  • My body hasn’t changed a bit from skipping the gym because I ย eat moderately and intuitively
  • I work out for health. I do miss the gym because it just makes me feel good
  • I will no longer kick myself for not going ย 5 or 6 days a week ….if i FEEL like it I will…..but doing 4-5 times or even (dare I say) 3 times a week….will benifit me mentally and physically all the same!

SO THERE YOU HAVE IT..being sick actually taught me a valuable lesson about myself ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s my advice to you ( and honestly, to myself) about working out: It’s not a necessity. ย It makes you feel good, fresh, and alive. Don’t push yourself. Feel good , be happy… and THAT makes you healthy.

ANY COMMENTS ON THIS TOPIC? I’d love to hearย โ™ฅ

IT’S GOOD TO BE BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12 responses to “Back into the swing of things.

  1. yay glad your feeeling better! i workout becuz i love it! if i ever feel like it becomes a have to. . i reevaluate my routine and sort it out! but i do love it almost everyday!

  2. Yay so glad to have your posts!! (and that you’re feeling better of course ;)) I definitely agree with you, working out should never be a chore. I do it because I love to do it and because it makes me feel rejuvenated and uplifted ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Glad you’re feeling better!! And I agree on the working out thing even though I really do push myself each workout, it’s still for the enjoyment. I’m not longer working out to lose weight or as some “I have to do”..but it’s a way to make my days better and give me energy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I totally agree with you! Because I fell while running the other day and hurt my knee REALLY badly, I’ve had to rest it this week. I miss working out SO MUCH!!! It gives me so much energy and makes me feel amazing! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Could not agree more! Glad you came to that consensus!!

    You breakieeefast looks good!

  6. I’m glad you’re feeling better! I’ve noticed a huge difference in my mental well-being if I don’t work out, which proves that the best effects from exercise are mental, not physical!

  7. Cara Craves...

    I totally agree with you…it’s all about listening to your body, especially when you are feeling under the weather. Now listening to your body when you are just being lazy, that’s a different story ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I took some time off for emotional/mental reasons, but I’m back now and it felt really good to be sweaty again this morning ๐Ÿ™‚
    Sorry you have been sick, hope you are fully recovered soon!

  9. i totally agree! i feel like working out is just a HUGE mood booster, plus for some reason for days that i get my running/exercise in i feel like i just get so much more done during th day. glad you’re feeling better!

  10. Those are some awesome lessons to take away from the experience. This weekend even though I had a load of free time, I didn’t work out AT ALL – even though I thought about it. In the end, my body was just pooped from a crazy week and needed time on the couch with my puppy more than it needed time on the elliptical!

  11. Glad you’re feeling better!! I agree, most of the work for staying healthy is eating right. Sometimes I like to workout more so I can eat more… sure me ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. People can become very obsessive about exercise and even more hard on themselves for NOT exercising. Sometimes its best to take a step back and realize WHY you like to work out. Great post

Leave a Reply

