fashion advice and healthy fried rice…

YEP. that’s what I have for ya’ll in this mornings’ post. BUT in case you were wondering… I’m having a really fun summer so far and am FINALLY seeing Dave this weekend up in boston!!

Also, my UDEL transfer student orientation went well….I AM SO HAPPY ABOUT THAT  and actually excited to start school…kind of haha.

Lets get right to the “fashion advice” from the newbie semi-fashionista

so, my advice to you is to embrace summer colors because come winter and fall they just don’t work with the cold weather styles…

AQUA. One of my favorite colors but also a very summery color to wear while you still can!

Here’s my FAVORITE aqua shirt that I own. I got it last summer for a cruise and this spring and summer it’s been a staple in my wardrobe :)

Last summer’s cruise: posing with my brother;)

and I wore it to work yesterday with navy capris (wooot woot)

MOVING RIGHT ALONG……

HEALTHY (yes healthy) FRIED RICE!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 an onion, minced
  • 1/4 cup of cooked brown rice 
  • 1/2 cup of egg whites
  • (i didn’t have any in the house but) you can add: peas, chopped carrots, shrimp, or any other fried rice veggies you’d like!
  • (also didn’t have any of this) Sodium free soy sauce or teriyaki sauce * I used lemon juice and butter
(EASY) Steps:
1. Put some evoo or butter into a small pan and cook the onions until brownish

2. Add egg whites and cook until eggs start to form scrambled egg constancy

3. Add rice, sauce, and a little water (if it’s dry)

4. AND BOOM. you got healthy fried riz-ice

…..a little color-less because of my lack of groceries in the house haha but, I will definitely be attempting this again. I served it with flatbread and poppyseed dressing with veggies.

OMG YUM. I love summer. Lucky for me my apartment for next year has a really great kitchen :) so I will not be attempting to invent dishes in the dining halls ever EVER again!! ( come on don’t pretend your not excited) haha

QUESTION: what’s the craziest recipe you’ve come up with when your food options are limited in the house?? (and no, cereal isn’t a crazy recipe ;))

….oh and I may not be back until monday or tuesday :( because I’ll be leaving friday for boston :) soooooo hang in there :) ;) :)

HAVE A GREAT REST OF THE WEEK AND WEEKEND.

peace, love, happiness

-Britt♥

19 responses to “fashion advice and healthy fried rice…

  1. It’s always warm in Houston so I never feel so bad wearing brighter colors year round (not that I’m a fashion icon lol). I always keep a carton of egg whites around so I’m going to have to try this rice.

  2. Looove that shirt! The color is guhhhorgeous. I don’t have any crazy “recipe” more like a crazy bowl of goodness. I will throw every single thing into a bowl to use it before I loose it! Veggies, pasta, cheese, fruit on the side. Anything. My palate is totally refined. Haaaah!

  3. sunshinevegan

    I’m in Boston right now :D it’s awesome!
    Love that top. Aqua is a gorgeous color on you!

  4. Love that colour- so summery/

  5. Is the fried rice just a recipe for one?

    Love aqua in the summer time!

  6. I love aqua. My favorite color in general is green but my favorite color to wear is aqua or turquoise.

    The fried rice looks great!

  7. Lenna (veganlenna)

    My craziest recipe? Well I don´t know if it was crazy, but once when I was really out of food, I cooked a packet of rice and mixed it with a few spoons of apricot jam and called it a dinner :)

  8. The aqua top is gorgeous! Egg fried rice is one of my favourite low grocery meals too, you can put pretty much anything in it.

  9. I love fried rice! It’s been ages since I’ve eaten it, but this seems like a great substitute. The “real” stuff leaves me feeling awful, but I know this would be delicious.

  10. I love fried rice but I haven’t had it in awhile. This looks like a great substitute!
    haha and hopefully I don’t sound like a legit creeper I swear I’m not but if you ever want to do a blog meet up when you’re back at UDEL let me know :) Have fun in Boston!

  11. aqua=perfect for summer, always :)

  12. you made this in a dining hall?!! you are so creative and love that top on you!!

  13. I love fried rice and this is perfect for me–I can’t think of eating the regular kind anymore…and i love egg whites :) When it comes to random/crazy recipes…pizza with random ingredients and salsa instead of sauce, mexican pizza, ole!

  14. Aqua is such a beautiful colour on you. You rocking that top!! :)

  15. I am a big fried rice lover so if I can have make it healthy I will! Btw you are looking smoking hot ;)

Leave a Reply

